ALB Japan and SE Law Awards 2011 - Nominees


Posted on April 29, 2011 at 3:04 PM

ALB has announced the nominees for the ALB Japan Law Awards 2011, which will take place June 22, 2011 in Tokyo. For details on the event, click here.

Of the nominees, Japan's Big Four law firms - Anderson Mori & Tomotsune, Mori Hamada & Matsumoto, Nagashima Ohno & Tsunematsu and Nishimura & Asahi - vie for for the top spot in up to 18 categories.

Among international firms, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett, Sullivan & Cromwell, Linklaters Tokyo, Davis Polk & Wardwell, Morrison & Foerster, and Baker McKenzie GJBJ compete for some of the top awards including International Deal Firm of the Year award.

For a full list of finalists, click here.


ALB has also announced the finalists for the ALB Southeast Asia Law Awards 2011. The awards are now in their seventh year of recognizing excellence and outstanding acheivement in SE Asia's leading law firms and in-house legal teams, as well as the top deals and dealmakers of 2011.

Among the notable categories is the hotly contested "Energy & Resources Law Firm of the Year," whose nominees include Baker & McKenzie, Gibson Dunn, Herbert Smith, Hogan Lovells, Linklaters, Allen & Gledhill and Norton Rose, all vying with last year's winner in this category, Latham & Watkins.

Another notable category to watch is that of manager partner of the year, whose nominees include James Harris (Hogan Lovells Lee & Lee), Stephen McWilliams (Latham & Watkins), Kevin Wong (Linklaters Allen & Gledhill), Mohan Pillay (Pinsent Masons MPillay), Martin Green (Stephenson Harwood), Chris Lowe (Watson, Farley & Williams) and Rachel Eng (WongPartnership). Last year's prize went to WongPartnership's Dilhan Pillay Sandrasegara who retired last year.

Front-runner Allen & Gledhill has been nominated in 20 categories, while WongPartnership has been nominated for 15 categories. Other notable firms with multiple nominations include Allen & Overy (10), Latham & Watkins (9), Linklaters (9), Rajah & Tann (9) and Milbank (8).

Winners will be announced at the ceremonies taking place on May 71, 2011 in Singapore. For more information on the event and the awards, click here.

Leave a Comment:

Blog Search

Get In Touch

Find out if we can help you.  Email us at or call us at +1-917-355-3119